Newsflash….Newsflash….Newsflash….Newsflash

“I’ll locum whilst I study,” I said. “It’ll be an adventure,” I said.

Yeah. Well, about that adventure….

Over the past few moFlag_of_Sierra_Leone.svgnths, whilst studying public health, I’ve worked in remote Australia, gained more experience in Aboriginal health, worked in busy Emergency Departments, and generally enjoyed the huge variety that a career in General Practice offers. But things are about to step up a level, and because I’m probably going to be talking about it a great deal on Facebook and on this blog, I thought that now the flights are booked and the contract issued, it was time to tell people.

On Monday I’m leaving for Sierra Leone where I’ll be part of the team helping to fight the Ebola epidemic.

We will be running an Ebola Treatment Centre in Hastings, about 45mins from the capital, Freetown, where we’ll be staying and swatting away the malaria-ridden mossies.

So prepare for an Ebola and West African health related feel to my posts! I’m hoping to have time to talk about the epidemic, healthcare in Sierra Leone in general, and also life working and living in Freetown. I will, of course, answer all the questions I can and will be delighted to have contact from friendly faces from home, so please keep the comments flowing. If you think you’ll find this interesting and haven’t found my Facebook page, please consider ‘liking’ it as that is where I’ll post most of the photos and articles, and it is where comments are enabled. I’m sure there’ll be many a blog post too.

OK. I need to go buy thick socks to wear in the gum boots we wear as part of the personal protective equipment. More soon!

PS – for my UK readers, gum boots = wellies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.