Quite Some Six Weeks

I’m now at the end of my 6 week deployment to Sierra Leone. I have worked with a wonderful group of people who I am completely in awe of, and I think we can be proud of what we have done and are continuing to do.

As you can imagine there have been some extremely sad and stressful times at the Ebola Treatment Centre. Work has been intense, tiring and emotionally draining. I’m disappointed to leave, but 6 weeks is the right amount of time for me.

However, as well as the distress, there have been some wonderful moments. There are some things that have caused a smile that is all the wider with the contrast of Ebola to compare to. So here, in no particular order, is a list of all that great stuff:

  • Watching a 15 year old girl who was paralysed and blinded for 2 weeks with her Ebola walk out cured whilst the nurses sang and danced.
  • The sense of appreciation and gratitude I felt having a day off by the beach with more laughter involved than any day for months after 2 weeks of intense ETC work.
  • 2 four year olds holding hands walking down the confirmed-case ward
  • The women who were recovering from their illnesses looking after the kids.
  • Every single time I walk past the hand wall.
  • 25. Count em

    25. Count em

    The support I’ve felt from everyone who has been reading my blog and FB posts

  • Mammi bringing out dinner when I got back from a late shift.
  • The camaraderie of that afternoon at the Radisson after a hard day at the ETC.
  • Feeling part of an incredible team doing amazing work.
  • The smiles and the drawings of the boy who was discharged later than his friends.
  • The buzz of a busy shift with a fantastic team

Now it’s time for a long journey with 21 days of monitoring at the end. I’ll keep writing and letting people know how the ETC is going.

Of course now I need to find me a new adventure. 😉

Thanks guys, its been incredible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quite Some Six Weeks

  1. Pingback: Quite Some Six Weeks from Dr Charles | EBOLA FIGHTERS

Comments are closed.